Bless Your Heart

Living out loud in the Carolinas

I completely underestimated the weather. I didn’t post yesterday because we’ve been without power since Wednesday night. I was luckily off work yesterday and the day before so we were able to prepare somewhat. But the weather never lives up to the forecasts here so we were still taken off guard. Last night we slept under 8 blankets fully clothed. I checked the temp this morning before work and it was 42 degrees in my house. 42! My mom & sister didn’t have power either. Our neighborhood looks like a war zone and driving to work was a nightmare. I had to drive around a ton of fallen trees, downed power lines, maybe 1 in 10 traffic lights are working so that is way scary. People can’t seem to understand that you’re supposed to treat the intersection like a four way stop.

The city is practically shut down. Complete shopping malls are closed because they have no power. Grocery stores, the ones that are open, are just about bare shelved. There’s no firewood to be found, unless you’ve been stockpiling. Hotels are booked solid, shelters are full. I don’t make a good refugee. I miss my hairdryer. Getting ready for work this morning by candle light was interesting. We played dominoes by candle light last night and that was fun. But the idea of eating cold Chef Boyardee is just gross to me. Like my little sister told J yesterday: “J, Shanny’s a high class girl. She should have hot meals.” I love that child! Tonight we’re going to go to the movies and get dinner out, so that means a few hours of heat. Yay! I’m just thankful we have a fireplace and enough wood to get us through a couple of nights, but the power company is saying it may be several days. Yikes! Looks like we’ll be playing pioneer for a while!

Posted in