Bless Your Heart

Living out loud in the Carolinas

We had so much fun last night with our trick or treaters! We had path markers with candles in them to light the way. We had spooky purple lights in the window, and creepy bat candle holders that gave off great shadows. We had our pumpkins and bales of hay. And of course we had our jack o lantern.

We had a ton of kids! At one point this flat bed hayride stopped off right in front of our house with at least 25 kids on it! We ended up running out of candy and had to turn off all the lights and sneak around in the dark so no more kids would ring our bell.

The kids had great costumes! We saw a Spongebob, a hooker rock star, vampires, etc. There were a couple of kids in just regular clothes though- come on, at least put on a sheet and be a ghost! And one little boy just showed up in a suit. Maybe he was going as a lawyer?

So I was asking each kid what they were dressed up as. And then it happened. This little boy and girl were at the door. Their parents were standing at the end of the driveway with a flashlight. I guessed at her costume (rock star/diva) then turned to the boy. He was in all black with a black hood that had a red border and black fabric that even covered his face. So I said to him “And are you Death?”. He doesn’t say anything, so I figure I need to be more specific. I lean in all close and I said “Are you the Ghost of Death?” All loud and enunicated as I put candy in his bag. Then the little boy who just had this woman (me) basically yelling in his face, makes a grunting sound and starts signing. Yep, I was yelling at a deaf boy asking if he was “Death”. Which I’m sure sounded to his parents (who were standing a good bit away) as if I was yelling “Are you deaf?” No wonder his sister was the only one who said “Trick or Treat”! No wonder when I first asked if he was Death his sister said “How did you know?”. No wonder when I walked back into the living room in complete shame, my husband says to me “Why were you asking that kid if he was deaf?”

I’m so getting my house egged next year. His parents are probably coming over tonight to beat me up. My house will be boycotted from here on out on the trick or treat route and I’ll be marked as the worst candy giver ever!

Posted in