****warning! following story and related pictures are NOT for the squeamish***
…and i wasn’t even drunk
is what husband said after an unfortunate accident the other night. he was trying to fix the sash of our window. little background: old house, double hung windows, top sash in office hanging down a little. so he was pushing it up while i’m at the computer just a few feet away. i hear this huge crash and look back to see him pull his hand back through the window and pull a huge shard of glass from his left wrist. he apparently was pushing more on the window than the sash and since we have old windows it didn’t take much to push right through. so we run to the bathroom and pick the rest of the glass out of his hand and arm. there’s blood all over the place. i do the superman quick change (i was already in my nightgown as it was 11pm) and i’m all ready to get him to the hospital. he won’t go. ay yi yi. so he’s running cold water over the cuts and there’s this big puncture wound about a third of the way down his arm and i swear to you he needed stitches. we get the bleeding to slow down and bandage him up. we clean up the rest of the glass and at this point since i can tell he’s not going to pass out from loss of blood or anything, i grab the camera. i had called my mom all panicky for a 2nd opinion on the trip to the emergency room and she said we should be ok as long as he goes to the dr the next day. never happened. i tell ya, he’d have to get shot or lose a limb before he’ll willingly go to the dr. so he taped up a classy garbage bag over the window and we went to bed. he’s still a little sore, i still think he needs stitches, and it’s still bleeding a bit, but i’m sure he’ll be fine. i told him it’s going to scar all ugly like without stitches and he says “well, it will be a reminder not to put my hand through the window!” yeah, cause you need a reminder for that sort of thing! and now the visuals… pulling the rest of the glass out of the window:
the offending glass:
the carnage:
patching up the window: ![]()