Bless Your Heart

Living out loud in the Carolinas

mils & fils

after stacy left we watched everybody loves raymond. i sooo identified with last night’s episode. i identify with poor debra more than you know. my mother in law is just like ray’s mom. it’s almost scary. so i totally understood when debra had a hard time calling her “mom”. jon says “that will never happen with you and my mom huh?” no way. i just couldn’t do it. i have a hard time now because i don’t know what to call his parents. their 1st names feel weird because i’m not their buddy, and mr. & mrs. feels too formal. i can’t wait to have kids. then i can just call them gramma & grandpa. now i just get in their line of vision when i have to talk to them and avoid at all costs having to call them from across a room. advice to all engaged couples: get it down now what you’re going to call your in laws before it gets awkward. you can’t switch to something cutesy years into it. it’s just weird. i really liked the idea of mil & fil. for mother in law & father in law. but we’re too far into it for that now.

Posted in